bugshaw: (Bicycle)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] bugshaw at 11:30pm on 27/01/2009
I'm still reading The Gold Bug Variations (Richard Powers), it's very thick and flavoury and is taking a while to finish.

In the mean time, I've seen four films already this year (Slumdog Millionaire, Frost/Nixon, The Wrestler, The Fountain (on DVD)), I have tickets for The Dark Knight at IMAX on Saturday, a Guillarmo del Toro double bill on Sunday, and I'll spend Friday night watching something Spanish with lots of rewinding and replaying trying to copy the accents. Maybe I should do a 50 Film Challenge instead.
There are 4 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
jinty: (caption2006)
posted by [personal profile] jinty at 11:51pm on 27/01/2009
That means you've seen two or three films I vaguely intend to see in ooh, the next few weeks if I get round to them (Slumdog Millionaire, Frost/Nixon, and maybe The Wrestler).

Not interested in the Dark Knight but does the Guillermo Del Toro double bill include Che by any chance? Assume not as I don't think it's out yet...?
 
posted by [identity profile] bugshaw.livejournal.com at 12:00am on 28/01/2009
I did go a bit crazy! And [livejournal.com profile] rhubarbfool got last minute free tickets to an advance screening of Frost/Nixon. I recommend The Wrestler, there's a lot to it and it's the one I've given most thought to since. The other two were great as well. The Guillermo Del Toro showing is The Orphanage (which I've not seen before) and Pan's Labyrinth (which I have). Che is out any day now, good old Arts Picturehouse :-)
ext_8559: Cartoon me  (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-magician.livejournal.com at 01:07pm on 28/01/2009
Good old Arts Picturehouse indeed ... saw Slumdog there Saturday night, my first visit to the cinema (well, I'd wandered through the foyer with [livejournal.com profile] ms_cataclysm during our epic walk around Cambridge on the Sunday of the 800th celebration lightshow!)

Seats were pretty good, and I brought my own LL flavoured water so I don't know what the snack prices are like, but it had a really good atmosphere.
 
posted by [identity profile] surliminal.livejournal.com at 03:44am on 28/01/2009
Is The Wrestler really any good???

September

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21 22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30