Saw this yesterday - the trailers make it look like cute Ryan Gosling doing exciting things on a motorcycle like stunt riding and pulling bank robberies, the reviews said good things about it being a powerful tale of family, fatherhood and fate, and the way a life can turn on a tiny decision and have repercussions down the generations.
Anyone else seen it? I was intrigued by the way some of the action scenes were shot, very jerky, like a series of stills more than the 24 frames per second we're used to. I was trying to work out what effect this had - almost like a comic book? A sort of distancing and switch of genre from the moody closeups of Handsome Ryan being eaten up by emotion and trying not to show it.
Spoilers in comments...
Anyone else seen it? I was intrigued by the way some of the action scenes were shot, very jerky, like a series of stills more than the 24 frames per second we're used to. I was trying to work out what effect this had - almost like a comic book? A sort of distancing and switch of genre from the moody closeups of Handsome Ryan being eaten up by emotion and trying not to show it.
Spoilers in comments...
(no subject)
FF
(no subject)
(no subject)
It's in three acts, each have bleak bits of their life and hope and striving to improve things, and times when you think ooh, it's all turned out okay in the end :-) They get into places where it is easy to make bad decisions and hard to make "good" ones, and it was interesting to see in the three parts how the characters handled it. It didn't quite manage for me to be an awesome generation-spanning epic, but was a fairly interesting stab.