bugshaw: (Concussion)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
A few years ago I was at a science fiction convention, chatting to people in the bar, and as the evening wore on I found I was in a great conversation with five of the most awesome, interesting, witty, clever women at the con! There were laughs, there was insight, it was amazing. I was obviously outclassed by these fabulous women, was grateful that they seemed to tolerate me hanging on, and glad that they liked it when I tried to contribute, even though I was the rubbish one and not really good enough for their company.

And time passed, and we kept talking, and it was gone midnight, and it was getting later, and one of us (it might have been me) said they knew it was time to go to bed, but they didn't want to leave this conversation, as they were astounded that such cool people would hang out with them. And everyone around the table agreed, but in their minds each of them had been the less cool person who was thrilled to be hanging out as equals with the awesome people. What, you too? But you're the cool one! No, you're the cool one!


I don't know what makes it such an attractive brain-trap, to think that someone is more important that you and won't want to talk to you, it's not exactly imposter syndrome, (it's maybe a fear of disturbing someone you respect? the awkwardness of making first contact even when it's someone you know?), but in a heck of a lot of cases if you're thinking it about them, it turns out they're thinking it about you.

(Also I don't want to be the cool person, I want to be the friendly approachable person)
There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] moral-vacuum.livejournal.com at 10:25am on 22/08/2014
Been there -it's very odd. Even now when I know this, I still get the odd moment of "OMG! X is friends with me and is interested in what I say. Coo!".
 
posted by [identity profile] bart-calendar.livejournal.com at 10:52am on 22/08/2014
We all want to be in the club that doesn't want us.
 
posted by [identity profile] coth.livejournal.com at 01:58pm on 22/08/2014
I certainly feel it at times, especially with the "celebrities" - writers, Hugo-winners, etc. that are generally well-known and admired, but sometimes just with my friends who I feel have other people as their better friends. I do seem to be growing out of it though, somewhat.
 
posted by [identity profile] nellorat.livejournal.com at 12:54am on 23/08/2014
My mother reported a similar anecdote from her college reunion (40th?), with each friend saying, "I was so messed up in college, and you had it so together"; "No, I was messed up and you had it all together...."
 
posted by [identity profile] athenais.livejournal.com at 04:50am on 23/08/2014
I think cool people do not ever think of themselves as cool because it's not a virtue or assessment you can assign yourself. And anyway, you can be cool to one set of people and a total waste of time to others, so you can't get complacent about it even if someone does say, "You were always the coolest person in the room."
 
posted by [identity profile] a-d-medievalist.livejournal.com at 11:48pm on 23/08/2014
I had no experience other than academic conferences that I could compare it to, but it felt a lot like that to me, too. One of the things I regret about Loncon was that I barely got to see you. I did get to meet a lot of cool people, though. By cool, I mean nice, funny, thoughtful, interesting, and kind. Some of them were even famous. One of the best parts was that I only felt on one or two occasions that I was included in a group as a kindness or obligation (and that perception seems to have been true) so yay for the rest of the time! There's nothing quite as much fun as realizing you belong to a mutual admiration society that no one can quite believe they belong to. I felt that way the last time I visited Cambridge (and met you).

September

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21 22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30