posted by
bugshaw at 01:16am on 16/02/2008
"Are you sure you'll be okay walking home?" asks
anef, as I leave Red Wine Evening after midnight.
"If I don't make it, you'll read about it in the Cambridge Evening News!" I quip; she replies
"And if you do make it, I'll read about it in LiveJournal no doubt!"
By 00:20 I was walking up Rustat Road. I noticed two tall young men on a side road, pushing bicycles and talking a bit rowdily. They turned on to Rustat Road, about 10 metres behind me. I started to hear what they were saying: it was things like "I'm going to fist your cunt," and "I'm gaining on you" accompanied by little running noises. These comments were addressed to me, and did not let up. My gut feeling of the situation was that they were not going to assault me despite their words, but they were of a size and fitness which made them perfectly capable of overpowering me quickly if they wished. I could not think of anything, any killer argument or withering remark, which would get them to stop their intimidating comments; if I did say anything it would probably provoke or invite further interaction. So I ignored them. I ignored them while they drew up to me; I ignored them as they drew alongside me, matched my pace, and exaggeratedly imitated my gait; I ignored them while they spoke to me, at me, to each other about me; I just walked along, in my normal way. Their words (but not their tone) became very polite as we approached the cycle bridge and other people and it became clear that our paths were diverging. "It was nice to meet you," "Those are nice glasses," and "We will see you again soon."
I was left with the aftereffects of an adrenalin rush (despite staying calm, despite being sure they were not going to even touch me), feeling powerless. I can't win their game, I can't even play their game. I'm just a piece in their game. Anything I do (talk or run or cry or unconvincingly ignore), they'll take as evidence that they've won. All I can do is keep on walking, today and tomorrow and the day after, and not be afraid.
They were just behaving menacingly for fun, for no more than a couple of minutes. Worse things happen, and will have done to many people this night. But incidents and encounters like these keep on happening, and should not. This is what my night was like.
And it kept eating at me, and I shook, and was disappointed with myself for shaking, for the rest of the way home. Coldham's Common at midnight was a walk in the park compared to that. And now I'm home, and I'm alright. I hope you all are too.
EDIT 08:43: Aw, you guys :-) I'm much better this morning and off to Peterborough to see
hawkida so can't reply to comments for a bit. And
major_clanger phoned and let me decompress at him for a bit. But there is more To Be Said (about these things in general, not this specific incident).
"If I don't make it, you'll read about it in the Cambridge Evening News!" I quip; she replies
"And if you do make it, I'll read about it in LiveJournal no doubt!"
By 00:20 I was walking up Rustat Road. I noticed two tall young men on a side road, pushing bicycles and talking a bit rowdily. They turned on to Rustat Road, about 10 metres behind me. I started to hear what they were saying: it was things like "I'm going to fist your cunt," and "I'm gaining on you" accompanied by little running noises. These comments were addressed to me, and did not let up. My gut feeling of the situation was that they were not going to assault me despite their words, but they were of a size and fitness which made them perfectly capable of overpowering me quickly if they wished. I could not think of anything, any killer argument or withering remark, which would get them to stop their intimidating comments; if I did say anything it would probably provoke or invite further interaction. So I ignored them. I ignored them while they drew up to me; I ignored them as they drew alongside me, matched my pace, and exaggeratedly imitated my gait; I ignored them while they spoke to me, at me, to each other about me; I just walked along, in my normal way. Their words (but not their tone) became very polite as we approached the cycle bridge and other people and it became clear that our paths were diverging. "It was nice to meet you," "Those are nice glasses," and "We will see you again soon."
I was left with the aftereffects of an adrenalin rush (despite staying calm, despite being sure they were not going to even touch me), feeling powerless. I can't win their game, I can't even play their game. I'm just a piece in their game. Anything I do (talk or run or cry or unconvincingly ignore), they'll take as evidence that they've won. All I can do is keep on walking, today and tomorrow and the day after, and not be afraid.
They were just behaving menacingly for fun, for no more than a couple of minutes. Worse things happen, and will have done to many people this night. But incidents and encounters like these keep on happening, and should not. This is what my night was like.
And it kept eating at me, and I shook, and was disappointed with myself for shaking, for the rest of the way home. Coldham's Common at midnight was a walk in the park compared to that. And now I'm home, and I'm alright. I hope you all are too.
EDIT 08:43: Aw, you guys :-) I'm much better this morning and off to Peterborough to see
(no subject)
(no subject)
doing that to another human being
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
But it also would make you feel less powerless.
(no subject)
Horrible thing to happen to you :-(
(no subject)
I hope you feel better this morning;.
(no subject)
There is a chance that as they are young they may well one day get older (although I'm a great believer in the power of natural selection), get married or get a girlfriend, or have a daughter, and have this happen to "their" bird and burn with shame. It is a long shot, I admit.
I won't walk anywhere around here after the pub has shut and I used to happily walk for 20 minutes to get home from a friends house at 1 a.m. I'm never sure if it's that I'm older or things have actually got worse and there's more chance of this sort of thing happening or if I just got fed up of having to put up with the few times it did. It's a horrible thing.
(no subject)
(no subject)
[[Hugs]]
(no subject)
I'd be inclined to inform the police about this. If it's a one off then it'll just sit in the files, but if this part of a pattern, and these gits are doing this regularly, then it could be useful. My guess is that this would count as threatening behaviour which is a criminal offense, though with few witnesses it would be difficult to bring to court. This is probably why they stopped being unpleasant at the bridge.
(no subject)
(no subject)
As for being shaky, I can't imagine a more natural reaction, or that anyone else wouldn't feel so in similar circumstances.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Sigh. I have just watched a report that only one in 20 rape prosecutions results in a conviction. i wish I knew how to do something.
More personally when I was mugged in London I did take a self defense class - not of the ju jitsu type , more of "make a lot of noise, run fast and don't aim for the groin, it's too low for your centre of balance." It did somehow, indefinably, make me feel better about things.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
How do we make this kinda shit stop. Why shouldn't women be able to walk home without risking abuse.
*HUGS*
(no subject)
Not many things induce an impulse to physical violence in me, but this kind of tormenting (bullying) does. I want to swat them.
(no subject)
You couldn't think of anything to make them stop because there isn't anything: part of that game is to respond to whatever the victim does. And sometimes the response can be worse than what they were doing before.
It may have just been a one-off on their part, but reporting it to the police might mean a patrol on the streets and a warning-off. If reporting it stops it happening to someone else it's worthwhile.
On the one hand I want to say 'don't let it stop you going out alone after dark': on the other hand I don't like to think of this happening again.
Hope Peterborough was good!
(no subject)
Not that it's any help at all, but in fact Michael came back two minutes after you left and he took the car and tried to catch up with you, but obviously didn't make it.
(no subject)
Yeah
(no subject)
(no subject)
Plans for revenge circulate in my head on a regular basis.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Hugs
(no subject)
I was just thinking this hasn't happened to me for a while, and as a matter of fact I don't think it's happened to me since I've been in Canada.
(no subject)
I know *exactly* where you're coming from. I've had similar experiences, though not with such sexually explicit comments.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Fucking wankers. I'm furious just reading about it; I'm so sorry something like this'd happen. That's just vile.
Hope you're feeling a bit better.
(no subject)
*hugs*
(no subject)
(no subject)