bugshaw: (Bicycle)
posted by [personal profile] bugshaw at 11:29am on 27/10/2008 under
Back in July I wrote nervously about my first driving lesson in some years. Today I took my first ever test. And passed! Yay! They gave me an A4 certificate which I didn't want to fold to put in my handbag, so I held it in my lap on the way home. They may have been some cradling, and the occasional stroking but only to appreciate the paper quality. It's jolly nice paper, actually. Shall I bring it round to show you? But mostly I'm pretending to be pragmatic. That said -

[Poll #1285886]
bugshaw: (Bicycle)
posted by [personal profile] bugshaw at 09:32pm on 19/09/2008 under
This morning I had my 'taster lesson' in an automatic car. Cut for people who know about automatics already, or don't care about them. It was all new to me. )

A cautious Win for the automatic, but I'll persevere with trying to pass the test in a manual.
bugshaw: (robot)
posted by [personal profile] bugshaw at 09:57am on 06/06/2008 under
It's time. This time it really, really is time. I presume I can get driving lessons during work time; I need to do the COA on my license.

Any recommendations for driving schools/teachers in Cambridge?

I've had a dozen lessons in 1990 and again in 2000; circumstances (and lack of enthusiasm) stopped me getting as far as a test. I passed the theory test a few years ago but it's expired now. I'm okay pootling on traffic-free roads but poor at judging my space/position. I am vg at turn-in-the-road and vb at reversing. N is happy to put me on her car's insurance and take me to practice manouevring after I've had some lessons.

September

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
  1
 
2
 
3
 
4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21 22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30